From Irrigation Association

Release Immediate

Nolletti, Zoldoske Honored With IA Awards

FALLS CHURCH, VA. (Nov. 8, 2013)— The Irrigation Association presented its annual awards during the General Session, Nov. 7, at the 2013 Irrigation Show and Education Conference in Austin, Texas. The association honored individuals in two categories:

Industry Achievement Award

The Industry Achievement Award was established in 1966 and recognizes an individual whose career demonstrates outstanding contributions to the advancement of the irrigation industry, products, practices, education, research or professionalism.

Vince Nolletti, Paige Electric Co. (Fresno, Calif.) Nolletti is recognized for his outstanding contributions to the industry, which include introducing the first commercially available microprocessor-based irrigation controllers, the KCS system, and increasing awareness of best management practices for electrical aspects of irrigation systems. He has been actively involved in several IA committees since the late 1990s, and he currently serves on the Irrigation Foundation Board of Trustees.

Person of the Year Award

Established in 1952, this honor is awarded to a person outside of the commercial irrigation industry who has made outstanding contributions toward the acceptance of sound irrigation practices or policies. Award recipients receive a lifetime technical membership to the Irrigation Association.

David Zoldoske, PhD, CID, Center for Irrigation Technology, California State University, Fresno Dr. Zoldoske has been a strong leader in the irrigation industry for many years — both at the national and international level. Some of his most notable contributions include serving as project director for the establishment of the Zimbabwe Irrigation Technology Center and representing the United States in the development of international equipment standards. As the director of the Center for Irrigation Technology, Dr. Zoldoske has established the center as an internationally renowned irrigation testing facility — a facility that is now the primary testing lab for WaterSense-labeled irrigation products. He also served on the IA Executive Committee for five years and was president from 2004 to 2005.

An IA membership is not mandatory to nominate a candidate or to be nominated. Recipients are selected by the IA Awards and Honors Committee based on overall strength of the candidate.

For more information or to nominate an individual for one of IA’s awards, visit

Recommended Posts