Larry Ruhstaller, a Member of the San Joaquin County Board of Supervisors, has been chosen to serve as Chair of the Delta Protection Commission effective Tuesday, October 1st, 2013. Mary N. Piepho, Supervisor for Contra Costa County, was elected to serve as Vice Chair.

Ruhstaller has served as the representative for San Joaquin County on the Commission since 2007. When elected at the September 26th meeting of the Commission, the new Chair accepted stating that “the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta is one of the state’s most precious natural resources. Decisions made by the Delta Protection Commission can greatly affect the environmental, economic and agricultural health of our region. I am honored to be selected as Chair by my peers, and look forward to an exciting and productive year.”

Don Nottoli, a Member of the Sacramento County Board of Supervisors, stepped down as Commission Chair after completing 2 consecutive terms. Nottoli will continue to serve as a Commission Member. The Commission Chair also serves on the Delta Stewardship Council board.


The Delta Protection Commission, created under the 1992 Delta Protection Act, is a State Commission comprised of 15 members representing Delta cities and counties, reclamation districts and water agencies, and State agencies. The Commission provides a forum for Delta residents to engage in decisions regarding actions to recognize and enhance the unique cultural, recreation, and agricultural resources of the Delta.

The Delta Protection Commission meets every other month at locations throughout the Delta. Meeting notices and other information about the Commission is available at or by calling (916) 375-4800.


Delta Protection Commission

Release Immediate

Sept. 30, 2013

Recommended Posts